mara michelleName: Mara Michelle

Age: 31

Where you’re from: Saint Mary’s, PA

Where you currently live: Virginia Beach, VA

School(s) you are attending or have attended: Indiana University of PA (Undergraduate) CalU Global Online (Masters)

If graduated when did you graduate: Bachelors of Science in Education- 2007, Masters-TBA :)  

What are you studying and why/what for:
I studied Elementary Education to educate our youngsters.  My current position has me leaning towards leadership/high education teaching.

mara michelle

What you currently do (occupation, community service, organizations, etc. on and off campus):
K-5 Math Specialist for Virginia Beach Public SchoolsSeason 2

What you Strive & Grind for, your passion:
Fitness and Wellness (Mind, Body and Soul)

Any Honors, recognitions, awards:
2013 Miss December for the Virginia Destroyers Cheerleading Calendar

Any Press links or features of you or your work:
Featured on Instafitbabes, b.n. shape clothing write up, bodybuilding.com

What does Strive & Grind mean to you, and how do you apply it to your every day lifestyle?
Giving your every day effort a purpose, in everything you do.

What can our Strive & Grind community look forward to from you:
Inspiration, motivation, and dedication. Plus lots of energy!

Anything else you’d like to include about yourself or think would benefit yourself or the reader:
Knowing that I inspire others is what inspires myself to keep at it everyday.

Fun Random Facts About Mara!

  1. What’s the #1 most played song on your iPod?
    Right now probably V.S.O.P K. Michelle

  2. What is one of your favorite quotes?
    “Never let someone’s opinion become your reality. Never sacrifice who you are because someone eles has a problem with it. Love who you are inside and out” -Les Brown

  3. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?
    Folding laundry

  4. What is your favorite form of exercise?
    All of it!

  5. What sound do you love?
    The dryer running at night while I’m laying in bed.

  6. If you could choose anyone, who would you pick as your mentor?
    The Man Above

  7. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?
    Speak fluent Italian

  8. If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would you meet?
    My Italian Uncle that I’ve heard I’m so much alike.

  9. If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do?
    Pay my dad back all the money he’s ever given me…even though he probably wouldn’t accept it :)

  10. Which celebrity do you get mistaken for?
    Brittney Spears

  11. What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done?
    Moved away from my family

  12. What was the last experience that made you a stronger person?
    Making the decision to turn down a job for another job opportunity.  Blessing in disguise.

  13. What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?
    Being late…I still have that problem.

  14. What do you miss most about being a kid?
    Eating ice cream every night without a worry I would gain weight :)

  15. What is something you learned in the last week?
    At my job, I learn something new everyday with the children I work with on a daily basis.  They tell you some amazing things!

  16. At what age did you become an adult?
    What’s an adult? That’s why I’m a teacher!

  17. What Zodiac do you belong to?
    Taurus the BULL

  18. If you could learn any language fluently, what would it be?
    Italian

  19. What talents do you have?
     I am a great listener! And I remember random things that others question how I remembered that.

  20. What type of music do you like?
    All of it, I have a love for music & dance!

  21. What phrase do you use the most?
    “LOVE YOU!”

  22. What is your favorite book?
     The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

  23. Do you like to sing in the shower?
    I like to listen to music while I’m in the shower but usually don’t sing in the shower.

  24. What is the one food that you would never give up?
    One food?  That’s too tough to narrow down.

  25. If you had one word to describe yourself, what would it be?
    Vivacious!

  26. When was the most peaceful day you have had?
    Laid up on the couch with my dog Diesel

  27. What did you want to be when you grew up?
    Happy :)

  28. As a kid, were you ever frighted of a monster under the bed or in the cupboard?
    Not a monster under the bed but mice under my bed.

  29. What was the thing you mostly got grounded for?
     Staying out too late.  Every minute I was late, was a day grounded. :(

Devona Stimpson
I’m a 22 year-old graphic designer, artist, and now blogger currently living in Virginia Beach. I’ve been doing graphic design since middle school, when Xanga and MySpace were popular social networks (I was known as “the girl with the sweet MySpace”), and designing professionally for 4-5 years. I love art, music, design, food, colors, urban culture, and random things that are aesthetically pleasing to me. Strive&Grind is my way of giving back to the world. I believe everyone deserves to live a happy successful life. Enjoy what you do for a living! Dreams can come true!
Devona Stimpson
Devona Stimpson
Do you want to achieve greatness?!
Snag a FREE list of helpful resources!